Connaissances.

Des connaissances qui entraînent le changement.

Les connaissances sur les droits de la personne que nous créons et diffusons sont issues d’une approche réflexive intersectionnelle. Notre recherche vise à produire des connaissances et des solutions durables aux questions émergentes dans la communauté des personnes handicapées, et à s’attaquer aux problèmes persistants et aux questions de droits de la personne à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Plus important encore, ce que nous créons ici est le reflet de notre engagement envers la recherche communautaire qui embrasse et honore la diversité des connaissances issues de situations et d’expériences sociales uniques.

Contribution aux connaissances.

Eviance est surtout connu pour ses contributions dans les domaines de la pauvreté, de l’éducation inclusive, de l’emploi et du travail décents, des droits de la personne, de l’équité et des handicaps psychosociaux. Qui plus est, notre contribution au savoir se caractérise par l’utilisation d’un réseau axé sur les solutions qui constitue une base solide d’information apte à entraîner le changement. Ce modèle de réseau de solutions agit dans les domaines suivants :

Connaissances collectives.

Nous produisons collectivement des connaissances diversifiées avec une variété de partenaires et de gens dans la collectivité. Pour nous, la collecte de ces connaissances est une démarche horizontale plutôt que hiérarchique.

Lacunes dans les connaissances.

Nous nous efforçons à trouver les bons partenaires pour renforcer notre capacité à aborder les questions émergentes pour nous aider à mieux comprendre et documenter ces questions et les inconnues qui les accompagnent et à y réagir.

Diffuser les connaissances.

Nous pensons que mobiliser les connaissances est aussi important que produire des connaissances. Nous diffusons nos connaissances de façon créative et à grande échelle afin qu’elles parviennent à ceux qui influencent la prise de décisions équitables.

Connaissances en matière d’évaluation.

Les connaissances en matière d’évaluation sont importantes pour l’avancement des programmes, des services et des initiatives qui ont un impact direct sur les collectivités et les personnes handicapées. Cette section présente certains de nos principaux projets d’évaluation.

Évaluation indépendante du programme Disability Catalyst de l’Alliance internationale du handicap

L’évaluation indépendante du programme Disability Catalyst de l’Alliance internationale du handicap : réaliser les droits des personnes handicapées par le biais des objectifs de développement social a été commandée par l’Alliance internationale du handicap et réalisée en partenariat avec Emmanuel Mournier. Ce projet examine les programmes qui soutiennent le développement du leadership chez les personnes handicapées et leurs alliés, y compris la formation sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées et les objectifs de développement social 2030 de l’ONU. Ce travail comprend une analyse documentaire, des entrevues avec des informateurs clés, la collecte de données d’enquête, l’observation de participants, des réunions réflexives et une analyse secondaire de données d’enquête préexistantes.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Projet pilote sur le respect des droits du centre ARCH

Le projet Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot est une évaluation pluriannuelle du programme « My Voice, My Choice » (MVMC) du ARCH Disability Law Centre. Le programme MVMC visait à promouvoir les droits des personnes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle et faisait partie du projet Respecting Rights du centre ARCH. L’évaluation a porté sur l’analyse qualitative et quantitative d’entretiens en groupe, sur des questionnaires et sur l’analyse des dessins des participants.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Projet d’évaluation des programmes Besoins spéciaux et Aller de l’avant du STTP

Le projet d’évaluation des programmes Besoins spéciaux et Aller de l’avant a été réalisé à la demande du Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes (STTP). Ces programmes offrent un soutien aux membres du STTP et de l’AFPC-SEPC qui ont des enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux ou un handicap. L’évaluation comprenait des entrevues avec des intervenants clés et un questionnaire qui a donné lieu à 400 réponses. L’évaluation a révélé une mise en œuvre et des résultats positifs, a défini les besoins des membres et a cerné des occasions d’amélioration pour l’avenir.

Résumé exécutif en anglais (PDF)

Connaissances issues de la recherche communautaire.

La recherche communautaire cocréée est au cœur de nos activités. Nous nous associons à une variété de gens au sein de notre réseau de solutions pour réalisons nos projets, et tous nos rapports sont ancrés dans des solutions durables. Cette section met en lumière certains de nos principaux travaux et résultats de recherche en collaboration.

Comprendre les formes intersectionnelles de discrimination des personnes handicapées

Photo of person in wheelchair beside a person walking.

Le Centre canadien d'études sur le handicap, de concert avec le Réseau des femmes handicapées du Canada (DAWN Canada), Egale Canada Human Rights Trust, le National Network for Mental Health (NNMH) et le British Columbia Aboriginal Network on Disability Society (BCANDS) mènent un projet de recherche pour comprendre les formes intersectionnelles de discrimination qui touchent les personnes handicapées au Canada. Nos objectifs sont de nouer des relations et de travailler en collaboration entre les organisations pour développer collectivement une compréhension des aspects théoriques et pratiques de l'intersectionnalité et comment elle peut être appliquée dans la législation, les politiques et la pratique pour lutter contre les inégalités sociales vécues par les personnes handicapées au Canada. Le projet est financé en partie par le Programme de partenariats pour le développement social du gouvernement du Canada–Volet Personnes handicapées.

Rapport en français (PDF)

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Handicap, droits de la personne, accès et recherche pour appuyer l’apprentissage

Le projet sur le handicap, les droits de la personne, l’accès et la recherche pour appuyer l’apprentissage a été réalisé à la demande de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, en collaboration avec l’école de politiques et de gestion de la santé de l’Université York. Ce projet est axé sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’une formation sur l’accessibilité intersectionnelle à l’intention des fonctionnaires canadiens, en lien avec le projet de loi C-81. Notre étude documentaire et notre analyse de l’environnement ont été effectuées en collaboration avec des experts en droits de la personne afin de mettre l’accent sur les droits des personnes ayant des incapacités multiples et de favoriser l’intersectionnalité, l’accessibilité et un engagement significatif des personnes handicapées.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

L’état de la mobilité partagée accessible aux personnes handicapées au Canada

Le projet sur l’état de la mobilité partagée accessible aux personnes handicapées au Canada a été réalisé à la demande de Transports Canada. Ce rapport contribuera à un travail plus vaste et ciblé sur la mobilité partagée accessible au Canada, qui comprendra un examen détaillé de la documentation et des consultations communautaires avec des personnes handicapées bien informées et d’autres intervenants. Notre rapport se concentre sur le covoiturage, l’accessibilité, la disponibilité et les services de réservation directe.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

VisitAble Housing in Canada

Le projet VisitAble Housing in Canada a été financé par la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement.Ce projet visait à cerner les perspectives uniques des principaux groupes d’intervenants au sein du système de logement afin de déterminer les obstacles et facteurs favorables entourant les « logements visitables » (visitAble Housing) au Canada.Grâce à des entrevues avec des informateurs clés, nous avons constaté un soutien général envers le modèle des logements visitables en raison de sa simplicité et de sa vaste applicabilité, de sa façon potentiellement rentable d’augmenter l’accès et de sa polyvalence en fournissant des solutions qui vont au-delà de la sphère physique en augmentant le sentiment d’inclusion, de socialisation et de respect des droits de la personne.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Site Web VisitAble Housing

Rapports parallèle du Canada sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées

Les rapports parallèles du Canada sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées étaient des rapports internes préparé par Eviance en 2019 et 2020. Ces rapports est un résumé des préoccupations soulevées par les organismes de la société civile dans leurs propres rapports parallèles qu’ils ont soumis au Comité des droits des personnes handicapées de l’ONU à l’automne 2016 et au premier semestre de 2017. Les documents explore les articles qui ont reçu le plus d’attention, les types d’actions gouvernementales souhaités par les organismes et les questions qui sont les plus importantes pour les parties prenantes.

2020 Rapport anglais (PDF)

2019 Rapport anglais (PDF)

Expérience des personnes qui utilisent des chiens-guides et des chiens d’assistance en Canada

Expérience des personnes qui utilisent des chiens-guides et des chiens d’assistance est un projet de recherche d’échelle locale financé par Eviance et réalisé en collaboration avec la National Coalition of People Who Use Guide and Service Dogs.Ce projet a permis de documenter un certain nombre de problèmes critiques liés aux besoins et aux droits de la personne des utilisateurs de chiens-guides et de chiens d’assistance au Canada.Les problèmes comprennent un sentiment de confusion dans l’esprit du public quant à la légitimité des chiens et aux droits de la personne des maîtres-chiens, ainsi qu’un manque d’information et de compréhension des problèmes et des défis auxquels sont confrontés les utilisateurs de chiens-guides et de chiens d’assistance au Canada.Des entrevues avec des informateurs clés de partout au Canada ont été menées, et les résultats de recherche ont révélé le besoin d’éduquer le public et de renforcer la législation et la surveillance afin de favoriser une plus grande inclusion.

Rapport anglais (PDF)

Recherche sur la Semaine nationale de l’accessibilité et recommandations pour l’avenir

Le projet de recherche sur la Semaine nationale de l’accessibilité et de formulation de recommandations pour l’avenir réalisé à la demande d’Emploi et Développement social Canada et a servi de base à l’élaboration d’une stratégie pluriannuelle pour la semaine nationale qui vise à rehausser la visibilité du mouvement pour l’accessibilité à l’échelle nationale et à encourager les Canadiens à promouvoir l’inclusion et l’accessibilité dans leurs collectivités et leurs lieux de travail.Ce projet qui a mobilisé le gouvernement et des équipes locales a fait appel à des intervenants d’organismes provinciaux et territoriaux pour personnes handicapées pour mieux comprendre ce qui, selon eux, sont les éléments clés d’une efficace Semaine nationale de l’accessibilité au Canada.

Rapport anglais (PDF)

Éducation inclusive en Ukraine

Le projet Inclusive Education in Ukraine a été achevé en 2016 en partenariat avec la fondation ukrainienne Step by Step et le projet d’éducation inclusive pour les enfants handicapés en Ukraine. Ce projet a cherché à renforcer la capacité du gouvernement, du secteur de l’éducation et de la société civile à enseigner de façon inclusive et à adopter des pratiques inclusives dans deux régions pilotes (Lviv et Simferopol/Crimée). Ce projet a été le catalyseur de 25 changements législatifs et politiques et a contribué à l’élaboration de l’indice d’inclusion ukrainien. Ce travail a valu à Eviance un prix Zero Project pour ses pratiques et politiques innovantes.

Rapport anglais (PDF)

Recherche sur le service de relais vidéo–Projet de comparaison internationale

Recherche sur le service de relais vidéo–Projet de comparaison internationale a été commandé par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes et comprenait une analyse comparative des services internationaux de relais vidéo (SRV) pour aider à éclairer les options d'avancement du système SRV au Canada. Cette recherche a enregistré les services VRS offerts par d'autres pays, identifiant les fournisseurs, les caractéristiques, les services et les fonctionnalités. Cette analyse comparative internationale sera utilisée par le CRTC pour tirer parti des approches fondées sur les meilleures données probantes afin d'améliorer davantage le système SRV disponible au Canada.

Rapport anglais (PDF)

Application des connaissances et outils.

L’application des connaissances et le développement d’outils nous permettent d’utiliser les connaissances pour entraîner le changement. Cette section présente une série d’exemples de la manière dont nous traduisons les connaissances en action par le biais d’activités de mise en application des connaissances et de conception d’outils pratiques.

Projet sur les outils de communication en cas d’urgence

Le Guide sur les outils de communication : guide convivial des outils utilisés à Winnipeg pour aider les gens à communiquer avec les premiers répondants en situations d’urgence a été financé par la Winnipeg Foundation et la Thomas Sil Foundation et réalisé en collaboration avec Inclusion Winnipeg. Ce projet pluriannuel a nécessité une solide démarche de consultation auprès de plus d’une centaine de premiers répondants, une étude documentaire et une analyse contextuelle, des groupes de discussion et des entrevues. La troisième phase du projet porte sur le guide d’outils de communication pour les personnes handicapées et sur l’élaboration d’ateliers de formation pour les intervenants.

Guide français (PDF)

Guide anglais (PDF)

Voter dans la différence

Le projet Voter dans la différence a été commandé par Élections Canada. Ce projet était axé sur la création d’une ressource pour les réseaux sociaux à l’intention des personnes vivant avec divers handicaps – et qui risquent ainsi de ne pas aller voter – pour les informer des soutiens qui leur sont offerts et leur permettre de prendre part à l’exercice électoral. Le projet visait à aider les électeurs à prendre des décisions éclairées sur leurs options quant à la façon de voter à l’élection fédérale de 2019.

Guide anglais (PDF)

Guide français (PDF)

Vous pouvez faire la différence

Aidez à bâtir une société inclusive. Faites un don à Eviance aujourd'hui.

Leadership éclairé.

En tant que chercheurs, mobilisateurs de connaissances et bâtisseurs communautaires, nous croyons qu’il faut prendre le temps de diffuser les connaissances que nous accumulons au fil du temps. Qu’il s’agisse de réfléchir aux tendances dans la recherche ou d’approfondir une question émergente, notre équipe sait que les connaissances prennent toute leur puissance entre les mains de plusieurs. Cette section sur le leadership éclairé est une collection d’articles et d’essais de membres de notre équipe.

Knowledge.

Knowledge that brings change.

The knowledge we create and share is focused on human rights and done with an intersectional reflexive approach. Our research is focused on providing knowledge and sustainable solutions to emerging issues in the disability community and tackling stubborn problems and human rights issues both nationally and internationally. Most importantly, what we create here is a reflection of our commitment to community-based research that embraces and honours the diversity of knowledge that comes from unique social locations and experiences.

Knowledge contribution.

Eviance is best known for its contributions in the subject matter of poverty, inclusive education, employment and decent work, human rights and equity, and psychosocial disabilities. Further, our knowledge contribution is characterized by the use of a solutions network, who together builds a strong base of information that can impact change. Our solutions network approach acts on the following areas:

Purple circle with a white icon of two people talking with two speech bubbles above them, one speech bubble has two lines in the middle to represent words.

Collective knowledge

We produce diverse knowledge collectively with a variety of partners and people in the community. For us, collecting this knowledge is a horizontal, rather than hierarchical, process.

Purple circle with a white icon of two people standing on two circles that are joined by a line

Gaps in knowledge

We focus on finding the right partners to build capacity around emerging issues that help us all better understand, document and tackle these issues and the unknowns they come with.

Purple circle with a white icon of a laptop, on the screen of the laptop is a icon of a person with a rectangle speech bubble

Sharing knowledge

We believe that mobilizing knowledge is as important as building it. We share our knowledge in a creative and wide-reaching way so that it gets in the hands of those influencing equitable decision making.

Evaluation knowledge.

Evaluation knowledge is important to the advancement of programs, processes and initiatives that impact our communities and people with disabilities directly. This section highlights some of our important evaluative projects.

Independent Evaluation of International Disability Alliance’s Disability Catalyst Programme

Image of a girl sitting in a wheelchair at a computer smiling at the camera.

Independent Evaluation of International Disability Alliance’s Disability Catalyst Programme: Realising the rights of persons with disability through the Sustainable Development Goals was commissioned by the International Disability Alliance (IDA) and worked on in partnership with Emmanuel Mournier. This work examines programs that support the leadership development of persons with disabilities and their allies, including training on the Convention of Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals 2030. This work included a literature review, key informant interviews with IDA members, donors and partners, including a diversity of activists with disabilities and activist from underrepresented groups, survey data collection, participant observation, reflexive meetings and a secondary analysis of pre-existing survey data.

English Report (PDF)

Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot

Image of three people, friends, smiling for the camera

Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot was a multi-year developmental evaluation on the My Voice, My Choice program (MVMC) through ARCH Disability Law Centre. The MVMC program focuses on promoting rights for people labelled with an intellectual disability and was part of the Respecting Rights Project with ARCH. Our evaluation focused on qualitative and quantitative analysis of group interviews, participant questionnaires, and analysis of participant drawings.

English Report (PDF)

CUPW Program Evaluation: Special Needs and Moving On Projects

Image of a confident young girl smiling for the camera, wearing a winter coat and hat and climbing a jungle gym.

CUPW Program Evaluation: Special Needs and Moving On Projects was commissioned by the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW). This work evaluated their Special Needs (SNP) and Moving On (MO) Projects. These Projects provide support to CUPW and PSAC-UPCE members who have children with special needs and disabilities. The evaluation included interviews with key stakeholders and a questionnaire that yielded 400 responses. The evaluation showed a positive experience of project outcomes and implementation and assessed the needs of members by identifying key opportunities to guide future growth.

English Executive Summary (PDF)

Community-based research knowledge.

Co-created community-based research is our core activity. We partner with a variety of members in our solutions network on these projects and root all of our reports in sustainable solutions. This section highlights some of our important collaborative research work and findings.

Understanding the Intersectional Forms of Discrimination that Impact Persons with Disabilities

Image of an asian woman working answering questions while another woman records with a pen and notebook

Understanding the Intersectional Forms of Discrimination that Impact Persons with Disabilities was funded in part by the Government of Canada’s Social Development Partnerships Program (Disability Component) and completed alongside the Disabled Women’s Network of Canada (DAWN Canada), Egale Canada Human Rights Trust, The National Network for Mental Health (NNMH) and the British Columbia Aboriginal Network on Disability Society (BCANDS). This report explores the intersectional forms of discrimination that impact persons with disabilities in Canada with a focus on how intersectionality may be applied in legislation, policy and practice to address social inequities experienced by persons with disabilities in Canada.

English Report (PDF)

French Report (PDF)

Disability, Human Rights, Access and Research to Support Learning

Image of a library space with book shelves and rows of chairs where people sit listening to a speaker

Disability, Human Rights, Access and Research to Support Learning was commissioned by the Canada School of Public Service and done in collaboration with York University, School of Health Policy and Management. This project focuses on developing and rolling out intersectional accessibility training to Canadian public servants related to Bill C-81. Our literature review and environmental scan was collaboratively developed by subject matter experts on human rights to focus on cross-disability rights and the meaningful engagement of people with disabilities, intersectionality, and accessibility.

English Report (PDF)

The State of Accessible Shared Mobility for Persons with Disabilities in Canada

Image of a bug with a symbol on the bumper symbolizing blind people and another of a wheelchair

The State of Accessible Shared Mobility for Persons with Disabilities in Canada was commissioned through Transport Canada. This report will contribute to a larger focused piece of work on accessible shared mobility in Canada that involves a detailed review of the literature and community consultations with knowledgeable people with disabilities and other stakeholders. Our report focused in on ride-source services, accessibility, availability and straight-forward booking processes.

English Report (PDF)

VisitAble Housing in Canada

Image of a doorway with a casual incline up to it.

VisitAble Housing in Canada was funded through the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This project aimed to identify unique perspectives of key stakeholder groups within the housing system in order to determine the possible barriers and enablers to the increased adoption of VisitAble Housing (VH) in Canada. Using interviews with key informants we found that there was general support for VisitAble Housing because of its simplicity and broad applicability, its potential cost-effective way of increasing access, and its versatility in providing accessible solutions beyond the physical environment to increase feelings of inclusion, socialization and human rights.

English Report (PDF)

VisitAble Housing Website

The Shadow Reports from Canada under the CRPD

Image of a stack of reports with plastic binding sitting on a desk

The Shadow Reports from Canada under the United Nations Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) were internal reports completed in 2019 and 2020 by Eviance. These reports provide a summary of concerns that civil society organizations expressed in the Shadow Reports (Parallel Reports) they submitted to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Person with Disabilities in the fall of 2016 and first half of 2017. The content analysis explores which Articles received the most attention, what kinds of governmental actions organizations call for, and which issues are most important to stakeholders.

2020 English Report (PDF)

2019 English Report (PDF)

The Experiences of People Who Use Guide and Service Dogs in Canada

Image of a mother and daughter walking across a crosswalk, the mother has sunglasses on and is with a guide dog.

The Experiences of People Who Use Guide and Service Dogs is a grassroots research project funded by Eviance and done in collaboration with the National Coalition of People Who Use Guide and Service Dogs. This project documented the experience of a number of critical issues relating to the needs and human rights of guide and service dog users/handlers in Canada. These issues included a sense of public confusion around the legitimacy of the dogs, the human rights of handlers and a current lack of information and understanding about issues and challenges faced by guide and service dog handlers in Canada. Key informant interviews from people across Canada were conducted and research outcomes emphasized the need for public education and further legislation and monitoring to foster stronger inclusion during broader consultative processes.

English Report (PDF)

Research on the National AccessAbility Week (NAAW) and Recommendations for the Future

Image of a man sitting in his wheelchair on a doc taking a picture of the water, trees and mountains around him

Research on the National AccessAbility Week (NAAW) and Recommendations for the Future was commissioned by Economic and Social Development Canada and informed the development of a longer-term multi-year strategy for NAAW that aims to raise the profile of accessibility nationally and encourage Canadians to promote inclusion and accessibility in their communities and workplaces. This work merged government and grassroots through a special focus on engaging stakeholders from provincial and territorial disability organizations on what they think are the key components of a successful NAAW in Canada.

English Report (PDF)

Inclusive Education in Ukraine

image of a child sitting in a group using a guitar

Inclusive Education in Ukraine was completed in 2016 in partnership with The Ukrainian Step by Step Foundation and the Inclusive Education for Children with Disabilities in Ukraine Project. This project looked to strengthen the capacity of government, education and civil society sectors to implement inclusive education and inclusive practices in two pilot regions (Lviv and Simferopol/Crimea). This project was the catalyst for 25 legislative and policy changes and helped develop the Ukrainian Index of Inclusion. This work won Eviance a Zero Project Award for Innovative Practices and Policies.

English Report (PDF)

Video Relay Service Research—International Comparison Project

Image of a a woman using sign language in front of a computer screen

Video Relay Service Research—International Comparison Project was commissioned by the Canadian Radio‑television and Telecommunications Commission and included a comparative analysis of international Video Relay Services (VRS) to help inform advancement options to the VRS system in Canada. This research recorded VRS services offered by other countries, identifying providers, features, services and functionality. This international comparative analysis will be used by CRTC to draw upon best-evidence approaches to further enhance the VRS system available in Canada.

English Report (PDF)

Knowledge translation and tools.

Knowledge translation and the development of tools allows us to root our knowledge in change making. This section showcases a variety of examples of how we have translated knowledge into action through knowledge-to-action activities and the development of practical tools.

Emergency Card Project—Communication Tools

Image of an EMT talking to a person laying in the back of an ambulance

Communication Tools: A User-friendly Guide of Tools in Winnipeg that Can Help People Communicate with First Responders in Emergencies (affectionally dubbed The Emergency Card Project) was funded through the Winnipeg Foundation and the Thomas Sil Foundation and done in collaboration with Inclusion Winnipeg. This multi-year project featured a robust engagement process with surveys of over 100 First Responders, a literature review and environmental scan, focus groups, and interviews. During the third phase of the project, we are working on a communication tool guide for persons with disabilities and developing training workshops for stakeholders.

English Guide (PDF)

French Guide (PDF)

Voting with a Difference

Image of a pair of hands that is dropping a ballet into a ballet box.

Voting with a Difference was commissioned through Election’s Canada. This project focused on creating a social media resource to assist people with various disabilities who were at risk of not voting to become more aware of the supports that are available to make voting more feasible. The project aimed to help prospective voters make informed decisions about their voting options for the 2019 federal election.

English Guide (PDF)

French Guide (PDF)

​Key issues for Canada under the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities: Priority Articles, needed actions, and people of concern

Woman sitting in a wheelchair smiling at the camera, she is in all black and sitting with another friend .

Key issues for Canada under the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities: Priority Articles, needed actions, and people of concern is an internal report completed in 2020 by Eviance. For this data report we analyzed and coded four reports which civil society organizations submitted to the UN Committee in 2019. One of these was a lengthy document (78 pages), which 55 organizations jointly submitted as Canadian Civil Society Organizations (CCSO). This report reviews what subject matters received the most attention and which issues called for priority attention, as well as an analysis of governmental actions and how they lined up with the priority issues identified.

English Report (PDF)

You can make a difference

Help to realize an inclusive society. Donate to Eviance today.

Thought leadership.

As researchers, knowledge mobilizers and community builders, we believe in taking the time to share knowledge we gain along the way. Whether it be reflecting on trends in our research or diving deeper into an emerging issue, our team knows that knowledge is more powerful in the hands of many. This section on thought leadership is a collection of entries and essays from members of our team.

Tammy Bernasky — A legacy of work

Headshot of Tammy Bernasky

Eviance is more than a research organization, it is a community of peer leaders who work together to highlight and realize disability human rights issues. Tammy Bernasky, PhD., is one of those team members whose background and interests have led her to join this community dedicated to creating lasting positive change.


Tammy has been working in the disability field for more than 20 years; serving on boards, working with community groups, and participating in international projects focused on advancing disability rights and equality.

Read More

‘Communication Tools: A Guide’

We are thrilled to launch “Communication Tools: A Guide”, a user-friendly guide of tools in Winnipeg that can help people communicate with First Responders in emergencies. The Guide is available in English and French, in both digital and printed formats. Please contact Kate Grisim at kate.grisim@eviance.ca to request a printed copy.

English Guide (PDF)

French Guide (PDF)