Services.

Régler les problèmes et bâtir l’inclusion

Eviance est un organisme multiservice qui se consacre à l’utilisation de données probantes de haute qualité en matière de politiques, de programmes et de pratiques dans le domaine du handicap et de l’inclusion. Nous fournissons des services aux secteurs public et privé qui ont une portée locale, provinciale, nationale ou internationale. Nous nous sommes engagés envers l’intersectionnalité et la réflexivité, l’inclusion et l’équité, les droits de la personne, le travail interrelié, les solutions durables et le renforcement des capacités dans tous les services que nous offrons.

Image of a woman with short hair talking to another woman across a picnic table.

Recherche communautaire.

Eviance entreprend chaque année une variété de projets de recherche communautaires axés sur des approches collaboratives pour rassembler des connaissances et élaborer des solutions à des problèmes persistants liés au handicap. Nos chercheurs intersectionnels sont formés en matière de réflexivité afin d’assurer que nos travaux de recherche reflètent de manière critique l’impact des positions sociales et des dynamiques de pouvoir. Nous travaillons avec nos clients pour renforcer leurs capacités et trouver des solutions qui reposent sur des décisions fondées sur des faits probants et sur un engagement significatif.

Image of a group of people sitting with notebooks on their laps listening to a lecture

Des connaissances à l’action.

Nous sommes des experts dans l’art de diffuser des connaissances d’une manière qui suscite l’engagement. Notre réseau axé sur les solutions et notre capacité de négocier des relations entre des groupes locaux, des organismes et le gouvernement nous permettent de produire des connaissances qui éclairent des décisions qui se traduisent en impact. Notre mobilisation des connaissances est entièrement accessible, prend en compte différents points de vue et modes de compréhension et de consommation et mise sur les bienfaits de la coproduction de faits probants, transformant les résultats de recherche en action concrète. Nous sommes heureux d’offrir ce service dans le cadre de nos projets de recherche communautaires, et de travailler avec nos clients pour les aider à concevoir leurs propres stratégies d’application des connaissances axées sur l’accessibilité

arial image of a woman in a wheelchair talking to someone on her computer screen and pointing at her notebook with her pencil as thought she is teaching something

Consultation et représentation de la communauté.

Nous vivons à une époque où la représentation de connaissances diversifiées est cruciale. Nous comprenons l’importance de la représentation lorsqu’il s’agit d’inclusion. Notre équipe participe aux travaux de divers comités et offre des services de consultation à des organismes, à des groupes et au gouvernement sur des sujets importants pour la communauté des personnes handicapées. Si vous avez besoin d’une expertise ou si vous cherchez une représentation particulière pour un de vos projets, Eviance est là pour vous.

Image of an older man carrying a basket of vegetables with trees in the background

Évaluation.

Nous fournissons une variété de services d’évaluation aux organismes voués au handicap ainsi qu’aux programmes et interventions visant à soutenir la communauté des personnes handicapées. Nous effectuons des évaluations de l’impact, de programmes et de processus (élaboration), nous mesurons des stratégies et des outils, nous évaluons le renforcement de la capacité et nous aidons à cerner des solutions qui maximisent l’impact.

Image of a woman standing in front of a white board talking to a small crowd

Formation et perfectionnement.

En tant qu’experts dans les domaines des droits de la personne, de l’inclusion, de la réflexivité et de l’intersectionnalité, nous saisissons toutes les occasions de diffuser nos connaissances et d’aider les autres à renforcer leurs capacités. Plus particulièrement, nous offrons de la formation sur la réflexivité, une pratique consistant à comprendre sa propre position sociale et son incidence sur son travail, sa vie et ses perspectives, ainsi que ses répercussions positives et négatives sur son entourage. Nous donnons également de la formation sur l’intersectionnalité et la réflexivité, des facteurs essentiels à une volonté authentique de diversité, d’équité et d’inclusion.

Certains de nos clients.

Qu’il s’agisse d’éclairer des propositions de politiques d’échelle nationale, de s’attaquer à des inégalités de longue date, de renforcer la capacité organisationnelle ou de réagir à des enjeux émergents, nous misons sur une approche en réseau et faisons appel aux partenaires appropriés pour favoriser le changement. Voici quelques-uns de nos clients récents :

ARCH logo
Canadian School of Public Service logo
CMHC logo
Council for Canadians with Disabilities logo
Canadian Union of Postal Workers logo
Elections Canada Logo
Government of Canada logo
Inclusion Winnipeg logo
International Disability Alliance logo
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) logo
National AccessAbility Week logo
OCAD University logo
Ryerson University logo
SSHRC Logo
Spatializing Care Lab logo
St. Francis Xavier University logo
The Thomas Sill Foundation Inc. logo
The Winnipeg Foundation Logo
York University Logo

Projets en cours.

Voici quelques-uns de nos projets sur lesquels notre équipe travaille présentement :

​Innover pour une éducation post-secondaire inclusive et équitable : une voie vers la réalisation des ODD

Image of a university class watching a presentation at the front of the room

Innover pour une éducation postsecondaire inclusive et équitable : une voie vers la réalisation des ODD est financé par le programme des objectifs de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada et comprend des partenariats avec le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, la National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), ARCH Disability Law Centre, OCAD University, Ryerson University et St. Francis Xavier University. Ce projet de trois ans vise à combler les lacunes dans les connaissances et les compétences des principaux intervenants de l'enseignement postsecondaire concernant les approches inclusives de la conception universelle de l'apprentissage, l'excellence pédagogique et le soutien aux étudiants dans le but de favoriser la réussite de divers étudiants handicapés l'enseignement postsecondaire et à garantir un travail décent. Le projet comprendra des revues de la littérature, des analyses environnementales, l'exploration et l'analyse de données et le développement de deux laboratoires sociaux nationaux.

Sign Up For Ongoing Updates

Projet sur le leadership chez les jeunes handicapés

Image of a black youth standing and smiling at the camera, behind her is a group of diverse peers that are slightly out of focus

Le projet Bâtir une base plus solide pour le leadership des jeunes handicapés est financé par le Programme de partenariats pour le développement social (volet des personnes handicapées), et comprend des partenariats avec l’Université de Toronto et le Niagara Centre for Community Living. Ce projet de quatre ans vise à renforcer la capacité en leadership chez des jeunes ayant l’expérience du handicap en les invitant à participer au sein d’un organisme national voué au handicap, augmentant du même coup la capacité d’Eviance qui cherche l’intégration des jeunes dans des rôles de leaders. En participant aux activités d’Eviance et de son réseau de partenaires nationaux, les jeunes développeront les compétences, les capacités internes et les relations nécessaires pour accroître leur propre potentiel de leadership

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Droits de la personne et équité dans les services de santé mentale communautaires

Image of a man in a wheelchair locking hands in a powerful way with another person

Le projet Realizing Human Rights and Equity in Community Based Mental Health Services est financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et est réalisé en collaboration avec la chercheuse principale Marina Marrow, Ph.D., de l’Université York. Il s’agit d’un projet multinational de quatre ans en partenariat avec trois organismes dirigés par des utilisateurs au Canada, au Kenya et en Australie. Ce projet pluriannuel étudiera l’expérience d’utilisateurs de services confrontés à des pratiques potentiellement coercitives, et le rôle des organismes voués sur le rétablissement. Le projet vise à faire progresser l’équité et à aligner les services de santé mentale sur le cadre des droits de la personne de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées des Nations Unies et sur l’initiative pour des droits de qualité (QualityRights) en matière de santé mentale de l’OMS.

Recherche sur le service de relais vidéo–Projet de comparaison internationale

Image of a a woman using sign language in front of a computer screen

Recherche sur le service de relais vidéo–Projet de comparaison internationale a été commandé par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes et comprenait une analyse comparative des services internationaux de relais vidéo (SRV) pour aider à éclairer les options d'avancement du système SRV au Canada. Cette recherche a enregistré les services VRS offerts par d'autres pays, identifiant les fournisseurs, les caractéristiques, les services et les fonctionnalités. Cette analyse comparative internationale sera utilisée par le CRTC pour tirer parti des approches fondées sur les meilleures données probantes afin d'améliorer davantage le système SRV disponible au Canada.

Rapport anglais (PDF)

Projet sur les outils de communication en cas d’urgence

Image of an EMT talking to a person laying in the back of an ambulance

Le Guide sur les outils de communication : guide convivial des outils utilisés à Winnipeg pour aider les gens à communiquer avec les premiers répondants en situations d’urgence a été financé par la Winnipeg Foundation et la Thomas Sil Foundation et réalisé en collaboration avec Inclusion Winnipeg. Ce projet pluriannuel a nécessité une solide démarche de consultation auprès de plus d’une centaine de premiers répondants, une étude documentaire et une analyse contextuelle, des groupes de discussion et des entrevues. La troisième phase du projet porte sur le guide d’outils de communication pour les personnes handicapées et sur l’élaboration d’ateliers de formation pour les intervenants.

Guide français (PDF)

Guide anglais (PDF)

Handicap, droits de la personne, accès et recherche pour appuyer l’apprentissage

Image of a library space with book shelves and rows of chairs where people sit listening to a speaker

Le projet sur le handicap, les droits de la personne, l’accès et la recherche pour appuyer l’apprentissage a été réalisé à la demande de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, en collaboration avec l’école de politiques et de gestion de la santé de l’Université York. Ce projet est axé sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre d’une formation sur l’accessibilité intersectionnelle à l’intention des fonctionnaires canadiens, en lien avec le projet de loi C-81. Notre étude documentaire et notre analyse de l’environnement ont été effectuées en collaboration avec des experts en droits de la personne afin de mettre l’accent sur les droits des personnes ayant des incapacités multiples et de favoriser l’intersectionnalité, l’accessibilité et un engagement significatif des personnes handicapées.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Évaluation indépendante du programme Disability Catalyst de l’Alliance internationale du handicap

Image of a girl sitting in a wheelchair at a computer smiling at the camera.

L’évaluation indépendante du programme Disability Catalyst de l’Alliance internationale du handicap : réaliser les droits des personnes handicapées par le biais des objectifs de développement social a été commandée par l’Alliance internationale du handicap et réalisée en partenariat avec Emmanuel Mournier. Ce projet examine les programmes qui soutiennent le développement du leadership chez les personnes handicapées et leurs alliés, y compris la formation sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées et les objectifs de développement social 2030 de l’ONU. Ce travail comprend une analyse documentaire, des entrevues avec des informateurs clés, la collecte de données d’enquête, l’observation de participants, des réunions réflexives et une analyse secondaire de données d’enquête préexistantes.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Vous pouvez faire la différence

Aidez à bâtir une société inclusive. Faites un don à Eviance aujourd'hui.

Projets antérieurs.

Voici quelques-uns de nos plus importants projets des dernières années qui illustrent bien notre travail et notre impact dans le secteur du handicap.

VisitAble Housing in Canada

Image of a doorway with a casual incline up to it.

Le projet VisitAble Housing in Canada a été financé par la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement.Ce projet visait à cerner les perspectives uniques des principaux groupes d’intervenants au sein du système de logement afin de déterminer les obstacles et facteurs favorables entourant les « logements visitables » (visitAble Housing) au Canada.Grâce à des entrevues avec des informateurs clés, nous avons constaté un soutien général envers le modèle des logements visitables en raison de sa simplicité et de sa vaste applicabilité, de sa façon potentiellement rentable d’augmenter l’accès et de sa polyvalence en fournissant des solutions qui vont au-delà de la sphère physique en augmentant le sentiment d’inclusion, de socialisation et de respect des droits de la personne.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Site Web VisitAble Housing

Voter dans la différence

Image of a pair of hands that is dropping a ballet into a ballet box.

Le projet Voter dans la différence a été commandé par Élections Canada. Ce projet était axé sur la création d’une ressource pour les réseaux sociaux à l’intention des personnes vivant avec divers handicaps – et qui risquent ainsi de ne pas aller voter – pour les informer des soutiens qui leur sont offerts et leur permettre de prendre part à l’exercice électoral. Le projet visait à aider les électeurs à prendre des décisions éclairées sur leurs options quant à la façon de voter à l’élection fédérale de 2019.

Guide anglais (PDF)

Guide français (PDF)

Rapports parallèle du Canada sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées

Image of a stack of reports with plastic binding sitting on a desk

Les rapports parallèles du Canada sur la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées étaient des rapports internes préparé par Eviance en 2019 et 2020. Ces rapports est un résumé des préoccupations soulevées par les organismes de la société civile dans leurs propres rapports parallèles qu’ils ont soumis au Comité des droits des personnes handicapées de l’ONU à l’automne 2016 et au premier semestre de 2017. Les documents explore les articles qui ont reçu le plus d’attention, les types d’actions gouvernementales souhaités par les organismes et les questions qui sont les plus importantes pour les parties prenantes.

2020 Rapport anglais (PDF)

2019 Rapport anglais (PDF)

L’état de la mobilité partagée accessible aux personnes handicapées au Canada

Image of a bug with a symbol on the bumper symbolizing blind people and another of a wheelchair

Le projet sur l’état de la mobilité partagée accessible aux personnes handicapées au Canada a été réalisé à la demande de Transports Canada. Ce rapport contribuera à un travail plus vaste et ciblé sur la mobilité partagée accessible au Canada, qui comprendra un examen détaillé de la documentation et des consultations communautaires avec des personnes handicapées bien informées et d’autres intervenants. Notre rapport se concentre sur le covoiturage, l’accessibilité, la disponibilité et les services de réservation directe.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Projet pilote sur le respect des droits du centre ARCH

Image of three people, friends, smiling for the camera

Le projet Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot est une évaluation pluriannuelle du programme « My Voice, My Choice » (MVMC) du ARCH Disability Law Centre. Le programme MVMC visait à promouvoir les droits des personnes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle et faisait partie du projet Respecting Rights du centre ARCH. L’évaluation a porté sur l’analyse qualitative et quantitative d’entretiens en groupe, sur des questionnaires et sur l’analyse des dessins des participants.

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Comprendre les formes intersectionnelles de discrimination des personnes handicapées

Image of an asian woman working answering questions while another woman records with a pen and notebook

Comprendre les formes intersectionnelles de discrimination qui touchent les personnes handicapées a été financé en partie par le Programme de partenariats pour le développement social du gouvernement du Canada (volet handicap) et réalisé en collaboration avec le Réseau des femmes handicapées du Canada (DAWN Canada), Egale Canada Human Rights Trust, The National Network for Mental Health (NNMH) et British Columbia Aboriginal Network on Disability Society (BCANDS). Ce rapport explore les formes intersectionnelles de discrimination qui affectent les personnes handicapées au Canada en mettant l'accent sur la façon dont l'intersectionnalité peut être appliquée dans la législation, les politiques et la pratique pour lutter contre les inégalités sociales vécues par les personnes handicapées au Canada.

Rapport en français (PDF)

Rapport en anglais (PDF)

Services.

Let’s solve problems and build inclusion

Eviance is a multi-service organization that is dedicated to the use of high-quality evidence in disability and inclusive broader sector policies, programs, and practices. We provide services for both the public and private sector that have a local, provincial, national, or international focus. We are committed to intersectionality and reflexivity, inclusion and equity, human rights, connected work, sustainable solutions, and capacity building in all the services we offer.

Image of a woman with short hair talking to another woman across a picnic table.

Community-based research.

Eviance takes on a variety of community-based research projects yearly that focus on collaborative approaches to gather knowledge and develop solutions to stubborn issues with a disability focus. Our intersectional researchers are trained in reflexivity, ensuring that our research reflects critically on the impact of social positions and power dynamics. We work with our clients to build their capacity and find solutions through evidence-informed decision making and meaningful engagement.

Image of a group of people sitting with notebooks on their laps listening to a lecture

Knowledge-to-action.

We are experts at getting the word out there in engaging ways. Our solutions network and ability to broker relationships between grassroots groups, organizations and government means that evidence that can inform decision-making at various points of impact. Our knowledge mobilization is fully accessible and considers different viewpoints, methods of understanding and consumption, and emphasizes the celebration of the co-production of knowledge, turning research knowledge into action. We enjoy providing this service within our community-based research projects and also work with clients to develop their own knowledge -to-action strategies with accessibility in mind.

arial image of a woman in a wheelchair talking to someone on her computer screen and pointing at her notebook with her pencil as thought she is teaching something

Consultation/community representation.

We live in a time when representation of diverse knowledge is critical. We know the importance of representation when it comes to inclusion. Our team participates on a variety of committees and provides consultations to organizations, groups and government on topics important to the disability community. If you need some expertise or are looking for specific representation within your project, Eviance is here.

Image of an older man carrying a basket of vegetables with trees in the background

Evaluation.

We provide a variety of evaluation services to disability-centered organizations as well as for programs and interventions aiming to support the disability community. We provide impact assessments, program evaluations, process (developmental) evaluations, measurement strategies and tools, evaluation capacity building, and help you identify solutions that will maximize your impact.

Image of a woman standing in front of a white board talking to a small crowd

Training and development.

As knowledge experts in human rights, inclusion, reflexivity and intersectionality we embrace opportunities to share our knowledge and help others to develop their capacity. Specifically, we provide training around reflexivity, the practice of understanding your own social position and how it impacts your work, life and perspectives and further how it can positively and negatively impact those around you. We also provide training in intersectionality and reflexivity, critical elements that frame authentic efforts in diversity, equity and inclusion.

Some of our clients

From informing nation-wide policy considerations to tackling long standing inequity and organizational capacity, and in responding to emerging issues, we use a network approach dedicated to engaging the right partners to make change. Some of our recent clients include:

ARCH logo
Canadian School of Public Service logo
CMHC logo
Council for Canadians with Disabilities logo
Canadian Union of Postal Workers logo
Elections Canada Logo
Government of Canada logo
Inclusion Winnipeg logo
International Disability Alliance logo
National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS) logo
National AccessAbility Week logo
OCAD University logo
Ryerson University logo
SSHRC Logo
Spatializing Care Lab logo
St. Francis Xavier University logo
The Thomas Sill Foundation Inc. logo
The Winnipeg Foundation Logo
York University Logo

Recent projects.

These are some of the current projects our team is working on.

Innovating for Inclusive and Equitable Post-Secondary Education: A Pathway to Realizing the SDGs

Image of a university class watching a presentation at the front of the room

Innovating for Inclusive and Equitable Post-Secondary Education: A Pathway to Realizing the SDGs is funded by the government of Canada’s Sustainable Development Goals Program and includes partnerships with the Council of Canadians with Disabilities, National Educational Association of Disabled Students (NEADS), ARCH Disability Law Centre, OCAD University, Ryerson University and St. Francis Xavier University. This three-year project seeks to close the gaps in knowledge and skills of key stakeholders in post-secondary education concerning inclusive approaches to universal design for learning, instructional excellence, and student support with the goal of furthering the success of diverse students with disabilities in post-secondary education and in securing decent work. The project will include literature reviews, environmental scans, data mining and analysis, and the development of two National Social Labs.

Sign Up For Ongoing Updates

Building a Stronger Foundation for Leadership of Youth with Disabilities

Image of a black youth standing and smiling at the camera, behind her is a group of diverse peers that are slightly out of focus

Building a Stronger Foundation for Leadership of Youth with Disabilities project is funded by the Government of Canada's Social Development Project Partnership Program-Disability (SDPP-D) fund and includes partnerships with the University of Toronto and the Niagara Centre for Community Living. This four-year project aims to develop the leadership capacity of youth with lived experience by providing meaningful opportunities within a national disability organization while also increasing the capacity of Eviance through the integration of youth in leadership roles. Through participation in the activities of Eviance and its network of national partners, youth will develop the skills, internal capacities, and relationships needed to further their own leadership potential.

Realizing Human Rights and Social Justice in Mental Health

Image of a man in a wheelchair locking hands in a powerful way with another person

Realizing Human Rights and Social Justice in Mental Health is funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and is led by Professor Marina Morrow of York University. Eviance is collaborator on this project as a user-led organization, providing support to the research and knowledge exchange. This is a four-year, multinational project in partnership with user-led organizations in Canada, Kenya and Australia. This project will investigate service-user experiences of coercive practices in the mental health care system and the role of social justice oriented organizations in enhancing equity. The project aims to advance human rights and align mental health services with the UN convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Video Relay Service Research—International Comparison Project

Image of a a woman using sign language in front of a computer screen

Video Relay Service Research—International Comparison Project was commissioned by the Canadian Radio‑television and Telecommunications Commission and included a comparative analysis of international Video Relay Services (VRS) to help inform advancement options to the VRS system in Canada. This research recorded VRS services offered by other countries, identifying providers, features, services and functionality. This international comparative analysis will be used by CRTC to draw upon best-evidence approaches to further enhance the VRS system available in Canada.

English Report (PDF)

Emergency Card Project—Communication Tools

Image of an EMT talking to a person laying in the back of an ambulance

Communication Tools: A User-friendly Guide of Tools in Winnipeg that Can Help People Communicate with First Responders in Emergencies (affectionally dubbed The Emergency Card Project) was funded through the Winnipeg Foundation and the Thomas Sil Foundation and done in collaboration with Inclusion Winnipeg. This multi-year project featured a robust engagement process with surveys of over 100 First Responders, a literature review and environmental scan, focus groups, and interviews. During the third phase of the project, we are working on a communication tool guide for persons with disabilities and developing training workshops for stakeholders.

English Guide (PDF)

French Guide (PDF)

Disability, Human Rights, Access and Research to Support Learning

Image of a library space with book shelves and rows of chairs where people sit listening to a speaker

Disability, Human Rights, Access and Research to Support Learning was commissioned by the Canada School of Public Service and done in collaboration with York University, School of Health Policy and Management. This project focuses on developing and rolling out intersectional accessibility training to Canadian public servants related to Bill C-81. Our literature review and environmental scan was collaboratively developed by subject matter experts on human rights to focus on cross-disability rights and the meaningful engagement of people with disabilities, intersectionality, and accessibility.

English Report (PDF)

Independent Evaluation of International Disability Alliance’s Disability Catalyst Programme

Image of a girl sitting in a wheelchair at a computer smiling at the camera.

Independent Evaluation of International Disability Alliance’s Disability Catalyst Programme: Realising the rights of persons with disability through the Sustainable Development Goals was commissioned by the International Disability Alliance (IDA) and worked on in partnership with Emmanuel Mournier. This work examines programs that support the leadership development of persons with disabilities and their allies, including training on the Convention of Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals 2030. This work included a literature review, key informant interviews with IDA members, donors and partners, including a diversity of activists with disabilities and activist from underrepresented groups, survey data collection, participant observation, reflexive meetings and a secondary analysis of pre-existing survey data.

English Report (PDF)

You can make a difference

Help to realize an inclusive society. Donate to Eviance today.

Past projects.

These are some of our important projects from the past few years highlighting our work and impact in the disability sector.

VisitAble Housing in Canada

Image of a doorway with a casual incline up to it.

VisitAble Housing in Canada was funded through the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation. This project aimed to identify unique perspectives of key stakeholder groups within the housing system in order to determine the possible barriers and enablers to the increased adoption of VisitAble Housing (VH) in Canada. Using interviews with key informants we found that there was general support for VisitAble Housing because of its simplicity and broad applicability, its potential cost-effective way of increasing access, and its versatility in providing accessible solutions beyond the physical environment to increase feelings of inclusion, socialization and human rights.

English Report (PDF)

VisitAble Housing Website

Voting with a Difference

Image of a pair of hands that is dropping a ballet into a ballet box.

Voting with a Difference was commissioned through Election’s Canada. This project focused on creating a social media resource to assist people with various disabilities who were at risk of not voting to become more aware of the supports that are available to make voting more feasible. The project aimed to help prospective voters make informed decisions about their voting options for the 2019 federal election.

English Guide (PDF)

French Guide (PDF)

The Shadow Reports from Canada under the CRPD

Image of a stack of reports with plastic binding sitting on a desk

The Shadow Reports from Canada under the United Nations Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) were internal reports completed in 2019 and 2020 by Eviance. These reports provide a summary of concerns that civil society organizations expressed in the Shadow Reports (Parallel Reports) they submitted to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Person with Disabilities in the fall of 2016 and first half of 2017. The content analysis explores which Articles received the most attention, what kinds of governmental actions organizations call for, and which issues are most important to stakeholders.

2020 English Report (PDF)

2019 English Report (PDF)

The State of Accessible Shared Mobility for Persons with Disabilities in Canada

Image of a bug with a symbol on the bumper symbolizing blind people and another of a wheelchair

The State of Accessible Shared Mobility for Persons with Disabilities in Canada was commissioned through Transport Canada. This report will contribute to a larger focused piece of work on accessible shared mobility in Canada that involves a detailed review of the literature and community consultations with knowledgeable people with disabilities and other stakeholders. Our report focused in on ride-source services, accessibility, availability and straight-forward booking processes.

English Report (PDF)

Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot

Image of three people, friends, smiling for the camera

Developmental Evaluation: ARCH Respecting Rights Pilot was a multi-year developmental evaluation on the My Voice, My Choice program (MVMC) through ARCH Disability Law Centre. The MVMC program focuses on promoting rights for people labelled with an intellectual disability and was part of the Respecting Rights Project with ARCH. Our evaluation focused on qualitative and quantitative analysis of group interviews, participant questionnaires, and analysis of participant drawings.

English Report (PDF)

Understanding the Intersectional Forms of Discrimination that Impact Persons with Disabilities

Image of an asian woman working answering questions while another woman records with a pen and notebook

Understanding the Intersectional Forms of Discrimination that Impact Persons with Disabilities was funded in part by the Government of Canada’s Social Development Partnerships Program (Disability Component) and completed alongside the Disabled Women’s Network of Canada (DAWN Canada), Egale Canada Human Rights Trust, The National Network for Mental Health (NNMH) and the British Columbia Aboriginal Network on Disability Society (BCANDS). This report explores the intersectional forms of discrimination that impact persons with disabilities in Canada with a focus on how intersectionality may be applied in legislation, policy and practice to address social inequities experienced by persons with disabilities in Canada.

English Report (PDF)

French Report (PDF)